From collectibles to cars, buy and sell all kinds of items on eBay
aAdvanced Search
Attention small business or part-time sellers near Atlanta:
Learn from experts and network with sellers at
eBay: On Location in Atlanta, March 19-20
SPACE IS LIMITED! REGISTER NOW
Topic Archived This topic has been archived - replies are not allowed.
Last Post Mar 11, 2009 7:32 AM by: secret_lurker
Replies: 49
)
planet-wow
Posts: 172
(1 of 49)

Re: Auctiva malicious software warning

Feb 20, 2009 3:28 PM
Yes, Auctiva got reamed by the hackers today. The alert at the site claims emergency repairs to servers so they will be slower than usual. It's a real bummer because I had it running just perfect.
Reply
Name:
Email:
 
Tip: To create a link - type the desired text, highlight it with your mouse and click[Click for url tag]
Tags:
 
)
fbgeorges914
Posts: 20
(2 of 49)

Re: Auctiva malicious software warning

Feb 21, 2009 7:43 AM
Does anyone happen to know if it is safe to access site? I am getting warning messages thru Google/Firefox.
Reply
Name:
Email:
 
Tip: To create a link - type the desired text, highlight it with your mouse and click[Click for url tag]
Tags:
 
)
740miket
Posts: 53
(3 of 49)

Re: Auctiva malicious software warning

Feb 21, 2009 8:31 AM
I'm in the middle of a LONG saved listing there I was hoping to finish today. Wonder if it's really safe? Appreciate any help with this. Hope it's not the end of the freebies.
Reply
Name:
Email:
 
Tip: To create a link - type the desired text, highlight it with your mouse and click[Click for url tag]
Tags:
 
)
quincystreasureisland
Posts: 5
(4 of 49)

Re: Auctiva malicious software warning

Feb 21, 2009 8:53 AM
I just accessed the Auctiva site using my Mac's Safari engine and the following message was posted by Auctiva as an "Alert!"

"A few of our auctiva.com web servers have been pulled out to do some emergency repairs. This means we are running on fewer servers than normal and the site will be running slower than normal. Friday 7:30pm update: We are faster than earlier today, but are continuing to rotate servers in and out and are still not at full capacity. Planning to be back to full capacity Saturday afternoon."

Hopefully, we'll all be back in business in just a few hours.
Reply
Name:
Email:
 
Tip: To create a link - type the desired text, highlight it with your mouse and click[Click for url tag]
Tags:
 
)
robmcfadyen17
Posts: 1
(5 of 49)

Re: Auctiva malicious software warning

Feb 21, 2009 9:33 AM
I tried to log in too. Getting all kinds of warnings. I can barely get things done since I'm new to selling on ebay and new to auctiva so this is a scary mess. Argh!
Reply
Name:
Email:
 
Tip: To create a link - type the desired text, highlight it with your mouse and click[Click for url tag]
Tags:
 
)
740miket
Posts: 53
(6 of 49)

Re: Auctiva malicious software warning

Feb 21, 2009 9:56 AM
I can't say I've ever seen a warning of this type. I use a Firefox add-on called web of trust and it's still giving auctiva a very high rating. This warning is straight from Google as far as I can tell. I've used a couple other search engines and they don't show a security warning - but google still blocks it when I try to access the site. I have the option to ignore the warning but....

Is ebay tied to Google? That would make sense.
Reply
Name:
Email:
 
Tip: To create a link - type the desired text, highlight it with your mouse and click[Click for url tag]
Tags:
 
)
irish10377
Posts: 1
(7 of 49)

Re: Auctiva malicious software warning

Feb 21, 2009 10:38 AM
I am trying to pay for an item I just won. When I click "continue" to go to paypal, I get a malwear waring about the auctiva site! Help!
Reply
Name:
Email:
 
Tip: To create a link - type the desired text, highlight it with your mouse and click[Click for url tag]
Tags:
 
)
ladykeys
Posts: 13,772
(8 of 49)

Re: Auctiva malicious software warning

Feb 21, 2009 11:25 AM
I just tried getting to the website (I don't have it - I use Hostmonster) and my Kaspersky jumped up with a Red Alert.

Says it's a "Trojan program".

Also: "This web page or file contains malicious software".

Object: http:/ / www.auctiva.com / js / windows.js?ver=4.8.1 [spaces inserted so it will not make a link]

Trojan program:
Trojan-Clicker.HTML.IFrame.kr


Allow

Block (Recommended)

I backed out of the site and won't be going back. I never heard of Auctiva but this thread has been linked from the Computer IT Board and I wanted to check the site. From previous posts here it obviously has been hacked into.
...


Frankly Scallop....I don't give a clam.
Reply
Name:
Email:
 
Tip: To create a link - type the desired text, highlight it with your mouse and click[Click for url tag]
Tags:
 
)
cards4aid
Posts: 3
(9 of 49)

Re: Auctiva malicious software warning

Feb 21, 2009 12:45 PM
I am also having problems. I cannot get into Auctiva. It is being barred as malicious by my security software and I will not let me bypass the warning. I cannot list items I am ready to put on eBay. I hope Auctiva soon sort this out as I use it every day. A big question. Even if Auctiva clean out their servers will the security software know this or will it still be blocked for historical reasons?
Reply
Name:
Email:
 
Tip: To create a link - type the desired text, highlight it with your mouse and click[Click for url tag]
Tags:
 
)
740miket
Posts: 53
(10 of 49)

Re: Auctiva malicious software warning

Feb 21, 2009 1:19 PM
Google safe browsing diagnostics just updated their page. It looks a lot worse than it did earlier. I wouldn't go in there for anything!
Reply
Name:
Email:
 
Tip: To create a link - type the desired text, highlight it with your mouse and click[Click for url tag]
Tags:
 
)
ellery57
Posts: 2
(11 of 49)

Re: Auctiva malicious software warning

Feb 21, 2009 1:28 PM
I started getting these trojan alert messages yesterday. I was trying to create a listing and all kinds of wierd things were happening. The realtime player kept popping up and then the page I was working on would start to move by itself. A friend who works in the computer field told me to get out of the website and reboot my computer. He said not to go back to the site until auctiva sorts out the problem. Today I went back to the old ebay listing system and had the same problem with the page jumping around. I'm wondering if ebay's system could have been corrupted as well. Anyone else have this problem? Very scary!!
Reply
Name:
Email:
 
Tip: To create a link - type the desired text, highlight it with your mouse and click[Click for url tag]
Tags:
 
)
bygeorgebears
Posts: 1,077
(12 of 49)

Re: Auctiva malicious software warning

Feb 21, 2009 1:43 PM
I'am having the same problem. When I click on my photos in my auction to enlarge it comes up it is a site attack. Also when I was trying to get the auctiva web site the real time player came up and I clicked on where it said did I want this to be my defult and I clicked yes now my computer is making loud clicking noise when I click on a page. Don't know if I did something to it by clicking on yes to make it my defult.
Reply
Name:
Email:
 
Tip: To create a link - type the desired text, highlight it with your mouse and click[Click for url tag]
Tags:
 
)
geoglow
Posts: 453
(13 of 49)

Re: Auctiva malicious software warning

Feb 21, 2009 3:08 PM
> I just accessed the Auctiva site using my Mac's Safari engine and the following message was posted by Auctiva as an "Alert!"
>
> "A few of our auctiva.com web servers have been pulled out to do some emergency repairs. This means we are running on fewer servers than normal and the site will be running slower than normal. Friday 7:30pm update: We are faster than earlier today, but are continuing to rotate servers in and out and are still not at full capacity. Planning to be back to full capacity Saturday afternoon."
>
> Hopefully, we'll all be back in business in just a few hours.

Another MAC user here Quincy. Concerned because I was told long ago - when mac went to os X - to keep Norton totally away from it, better yet, ditch it and that it wasn't needed for protection on a mac. Now with this auctiva attack, wondering. Is there a way to check to see if mac computer has been infected? How secure are you feeling? I usually use Firefox and got the Big Red Warning from Google when I tried to enter auctiva earlier this afternoon. Switched to Safari as you did - and encountered the same as you.. the flashing alert with the same message. Did notice my listings are HUGE on safari.
Reply
Name:
Email:
 
Tip: To create a link - type the desired text, highlight it with your mouse and click[Click for url tag]
Tags:
 
)
ellery57
Posts: 2
(14 of 49)

Re: Auctiva malicious software warning

Feb 21, 2009 4:22 PM
Now my customers are getting the same message when they try to pay through auctiva. What's going on?!!
Reply
Name:
Email:
 
Tip: To create a link - type the desired text, highlight it with your mouse and click[Click for url tag]
Tags:
 
Page: of 4

New to eBay Boards? Try a visit to our Community Discussion Boards Help and Welcome Center .

Want to visit another board? You can view our Community Overview Page or select from these lists:

Community Help Boards:

eBay Tools Boards:

Category-Specific Boards:

General Discussion Boards:


Feedback Forum | Discussion Boards | Groups | Answer Center | Chat Rooms | Community Values

About eBay | Announcements | Security Center | Policies | Government Relations | Site Map | Help | Contact us
Copyright © 1995-2010 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the eBay User Agreement and Privacy Policy.
eBay official time
hosted by LiveWorld