cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it normal to have a "slow spell?"

I'm really quite new at this. Over the last week, I've had basically what a day of orders looked like a month ago.

I got my first ebay store subscription a few days ago - does that have something to do with it?

Cheers.

Message 1 of 14
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

Yes, there will be times you think the shoppers have left forever.  Slow spells are normal in sales of all kinds.  

August is one of the slowest months for many sellers because people go on vacation before school starts.  I take a week or two off every August to stretch my buying trips a little farther from home.   August is also a key month for preparing for holiday listings for the November and December sales season.  

As for your categories, books can be literal dust collectors for months or years and one day you wake up and a title sells that you had forgotten you even had.   I sold a couple books this month and see book sales as a bonus rather than something I expect to move quickly.

The only other point I would make today is that it helps to expect the unexpected in our current health crises that is just 18 months old.  New normals are being established for the first time in many peoples' lives.

Patience when selling on-line is key.

View Best Answer in original post

Message 7 of 14
latest reply
13 REPLIES 13

yes, entirely normal to have slow days.........having a store has nothing to do with it........

Message 2 of 14
latest reply