cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will my ad groups compete against each other if they have the same keyword(s)?

I am curious if when I use Advanced Promoted Listings and have multiple ads groups with some of the same keywords, will they compete against each other and drive up the bids?

Also, if I search and click on my own listing will I get charged? This seems like something eBay would do, but I'm new to the advanced listings so not completely sure.

Message 1 of 2
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

@originconsoles 

Competing Ad Groups:

• Yes, ad groups with overlapping keywords can compete against each other. This can drive up your bids as your ads compete for the same impressions.
  • To minimize this, ensure your ad groups are well-defined and targeted to distinct product categories or themes. Use negative keywords to exclude overlapping terms from irrelevant ad groups.
  • Monitor your campaign performance and adjust bids or keywords as needed to optimize efficiency and avoid unnecessary competition.

Clicking Your Own Listings:

• Generally, eBay won't charge you for clicking your own listings in Promoted Listings campaigns. However, there are some exceptions:
    • Clicking from outside eBay: If you click your listing from a different website or platform, eBay might consider it suspicious activity and charge you.
    • Repeated clicking: Clicking your listing repeatedly or using automated tools to click it can be flagged as invalid traffic and incur charges.
    • Clicking from the same IP address: If multiple clicks come from the same IP address (like your office computer), eBay might suspect click fraud and charge you.

Tips to Avoid Charges:

• Click your listings only for testing purposes and do so sparingly.
  • Use different devices and locations when testing clicks.
  • Avoid using automated clickers or bots.
  • Monitor your campaign reports for any suspicious activity.