cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ebay no longer protecting sellers in fraudulent return cases - Ebay customer service inept

Recently had a buyer return an empty brow pencil box without the pencil in it, the envelope was sealed so I know it wasn’t postal theft. Since I've been selling on ebay for 25 years and had this issue occasionally in that time, I thought I would report the fraud and be protected by ebay. WRONG. 

I called 4/6 to report the fraudulent return the day I received it, ebay stated "don't refund buyer, block them, you will then appeal and you will be protected".  Simple enough, then the case closed with a refund to the buyer, I called up and appealed it. Well it was denied by the system immediately, and I suspect a human never laid eyes on it. I call ebay again 4/10, CS said the appeal was denied because I didn't send the buyer a photo of the empty box, which seems stupid, but I sent the buyer a photo of the empty box, and the CS agent seemed confident this would be approved. Appeal denied a second time. I called 4/15, CS said this is a seller protection case and that previous agents appealed the case under a returns case. So she appealed it under a seller protection case, and that too was denied. The denial I got from the appeals team was not even related to a fraudulent return, this is what they messaged me:

Focusing on what we can do, I’m here to help and to inform you of all the possible ways to get your item.  

1. There are some instances when a neighbor or housemate accepted the parcel on your behalf – you may check with any people who may have been home on the day your parcel was delivered.

2. There are some carriers who leave the parcels in a safe hiding place, for instance at the side of your house, in a bin or in your porch – we encourage you to look in any likely hiding places for your parcel.