cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shipping charges versus costs

I'm still a newbie here in the eBay land, but I have noticed on a few items we actually lost money in the shipping, using eBay's system.  They know where I am, they know where the customer is, who the shipper will be and can get the rate.  They add on their processing fee - so why can't they charge the customer at least a break-even for the seller, or let the seller make 5-10% on the shipping?  Seems like they want to keep the freight charges low at our expense.  So now everything I list is higher than it would be, just to cover that, and the customers have no idea why the price is "high" or offer/counter offers are tight.  -- Chip

Message 1 of 24
latest reply
23 REPLIES 23

Re: Shipping charges versus costs

Are you including the PACKED weight and full dimensions in the listing? If not that is the issue.

If you want to add to the shipping charged to the buyer then add a handling fee when you set up the listing.

Message 2 of 24
latest reply

@st-shshi-vrxilvd3 wrote: ...  I have noticed on a few items we actually lost money in the shipping, using eBay's system.  They know where I am, they know where the customer is, who the shipper will be and can get the rate.  They add on their processing fee ...

eBay does not add a processing fee.  Most of us have found that the shipping calculator for USPS postage is 99.99% accurate; not so sure about UPS or FedEx.

The shipping calculator in eBay listings defaults to show the retail ("in store") price, but in your site preferences you can change that to charge buyers the online rate.  Many sellers choose to leave it set up for retail, so that the online discount provides an automatic proportional built-in handling fee to cover expenses such as packaging and final value fee.