cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buyers win bid but never pay

I'm fairly new to selling on Ebay but have purchased some items over several years. The instructions clearly state, if you win the bidding auction, you are expected to pay. I have three sales that have never paid. One was partly my error in listing the email for paypal with an error. That buyer notified me; I responded as to the fix and never heard from him again even though I sent a couple messages. The other two simply never paid after winning the bidding.  Other than cancelling the bid, is there any responsibility on the part of ebay and/or the buyer to pay for what they've purchased.  The two items aren't anything particutlarly special, but they were removed for over a month while I tried to see if there was a problem for the buyer...did they still want it or did they have some reason they hadn't paid for it yet.  Also regarding feedback, I don't want to leave negative feedback if there is an issue for the buyer, but I certainly don't want to leave positive feedback either. It seems that the lack of payment should be noted on their record and let them dispute the negative feedback. How do y'all handle such things or do you just let them slide as part of doing business?  Thank you.

Message 1 of 9
latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

First thing first, I presume that you've verify your paypal address and make sure it is correct. Secondly, yes, buyers are supposed to pay. I wait 2 days after purchase and then I submit a notification through eBay about non-payment. If selling via auction, sometimes the winning bidder does not check his email quickly notifying him that they won the auction, or the email gets lost in junk file, as opposed to one who does a buy it now, which means they have the intention of paying immediately, hence they "buy it now". 

Message 2 of 9
latest reply